they were trying to talk to me, to me, to me, to me

coming soon to a mailbox near youTHIS WEEK: if you believe in Pixies, click these links

As you can see, we’ve got a flyer for our show featuring something I found in my parents’ house.  I’ve also prepared a secret weapon, but you’ll have to wait until next week for that.

For now, here’s the classic line up of the Heaps (plus Sam on conga) at the “Heaps by Request” show playing our Velvet Underground / Pixies medley called “Waiting For My Man, Here Comes Yours”:

http://www.franzkeller.com/heaps/heapsongs/01_MyMan_YourMan.mp3″ (download)

[Vernon: violin; Erin: flute; Mike: acoustic guitar; Sam: conga drum; me: vocals & electric guitar; you guys: chorus answering part] This is one of my favorite Heaps live recordings because people actually sang the answering part of the chorus without us asking them to. Almost as great as when people started to sing along on the chorus of Old Palo Verde with us at our first show (the one with togas).  (Erin and I also played the VU/Pixies medley when we were playing at J&McK’s wedding as The Heavens Gates along with the Talking Heads’ “Psycho Killer”, the YYYs “Black Tongue”, and The Heaps “Casual Encounters” just to make sure that were covering all the major vices.)

BONUS:Ah, the Pixies–they were a band who understood how to mix sweet and salty.  Well, here’s the classic Heaps playing the Pixies’ “Where Is My Mind?”:

http://www.franzkeller.com/heaps/heapsongs/Heaps_WhereMind.mp3″ (download)

We left it off of “Suitcase!” because we wanted a single disc of just originals to give people, but it had an important place in the definitive document of the early Heaps as the big closer for the second disc of the “Heaps of Talent” set.  We’ll have a new disc of “just originals” to hand out at our show on the 30th–catch the fever!

One Response to “they were trying to talk to me, to me, to me, to me”

  1. […] was a favorite song that we used to do in a medley with the Velvet Undergrounds’ “I’m Waiting For My Man” back when we had Mike and Vernon in the band (as well as playing it at our friend Jonathan’s […]

Leave a Reply

